A to Z Challenge – Z for Zadie Smith

On Beauty

Z for this challenge can be a tough one. I brainstormed a bit, but couldn’t find the right topic for this one. Then I looked at my bookshelf and immediately knew I was on the right track. Zadie Smith was it! I’m currently listening to Zadie Smith’s On Beauty. I’ve heard many praises for Zadie Smith, so I’m excited to give one of her novels a try.

Have you read On Beauty or any of Zadie Smith’s books? What do you think? 

*Wow, I’ve made it to the last post of this challenge! Congrats if you also completed it!*

11 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge – Z for Zadie Smith

  1. I looked this book up. The plot sounds very interesting and from the description sounds as though it is very neutral in not trying to push any one political or religious agenda but more to show how two families can interact while having different views. It sounds like a book Hollywood would love to get their hands on. I’m sure they would distort the true meaning of the book and try to put one family in a bad light pushing their own religious and social agendas judging by past history. It is always best to read the book before seeing in on the screen. I think this is a book I would rather read and not see on film unless it was kept true to the writer’s intent. I think I will check this book out. Thanks for taking part in the A-Z challenge. I enjoyed your posts. I will keep checking in as time permits.

    • Thanks so much for stopping by! I hope you give On Beauty a try as well. I’m not sure if it is a good candidate as a movie, but I’m only about 30 pages into it.

  2. Congrats on making it all the way through! I found it quite challenging (thus the name I guess) & had to resort to phonetics for X, but it’s given me a new respect for people who blog every day! Hopefully it teaches me some discipline which is what I was hoping for in joining the challenge.

  3. Pingback: It was strange … | allthingswordy

Leave a comment