3 Strategies for Completing the A to Z Blogging Challenge

I recently signed up for the A to Z Blogging Challenge starting April 1st. I will be posting on my blog every day (Sundays off) and dedicating each post to a different letter of the alphabet. Sound fun? Check out Tossing it Out for more info.

I don’t post more than once or twice a week now, so how am I going to get through this challenge? I came up with three guidelines to keep in mind when I write.

1. Decide Topics Early and Stick with Them.

More time needs to be devoted to writing rather than weighing the options. Start brainstorming topics now and pinpoint one or two that you like best for each day. Choose broad topics which might be easier to write about.

I tend to dwell on topics for too long, so this is essential to getting started.

2. Keep Posts Brief and Meaningful.

Write something about the topic and keep it simple. Sometimes a quotation and/or photo will help bring ideas together. A good paragraph will get the job done, and then you can move on to other posts. (Poems, lists… just about anything will qualify as a post!)

3. Prepare Posts Ahead of Time.

Getting a few posts done early will keep you feeling confident that you can be successful in the challenge. Waiting until the day the post is due could cause you to write a post you are not happy with or not post at all. Having them ready early also gives you time to check posts later so you can make any last-minute changes rather than trying to beat the clock.

I customized these strategies based on the reasons why I don’t blog often so this challenge may even help me become a better blogger after completing it. I hope this helps you as well.

Let me know if you sign up and if you have any other good tips to survive the challenge!

10 thoughts on “3 Strategies for Completing the A to Z Blogging Challenge

    • Thanks for stopping by, Jocey! This challenge would be so cool on your blog. You could write about different ingredients, cooking tools, food allergy issues, terminology…so much to cover related to cooking. Whatever you do, I’m glad to see you are still blogging and enjoying it. Take care 🙂

  1. Good reminder to keep it simple and stay brief, I think that will be key to getting these posts written and out there.

  2. These are some great suggestions whether you take the challenge or not. I just started writing some of my posts ahead of time and it does seem to help. But sometimes the things I write spontaneously are the most fun. Good luck with the challenge.

  3. Pingback: (A)nnouncing an April A-Z blogging challenge « Walk A Mile In My Shoes
  4. Pingback: What I learned from the A to Z challenge « The Artistry Collective

Leave a Reply

