The Quest to Repurpose

It all started with my desire to become more eco-friendly. I began researching ways to recycle or revamp clothes and found many examples with tutorials. I’ve seen people reuse what they have and re-fashion things into useful and even fabulous items. (A tight budget does encourage this, yet a chance to be creative is also motivation.) With this in mind, I have been on a mission to collect instructions and materials for do-it-yourself projects for my family.

Finding resources for projects has been easy. I’ve bookmarked dozens of projects and websites that interest me.

Here are a couple of my favorites:

Tipnut.com compiles lists of enticing projects for all levels and interests.

Newdressaday.com is amazing! Marisa takes an ill-fitting, out-of-style article of clothing and transforms it into something modern and fashionable.

My daughter has a hard time parting with clothes that just don’t fit her anymore, so I set aside her favorite ones in hopes of making some clothes for her or her dolls. (We’ll see how that works out.) I’ve been to a few thrift shops and found some appealing fabric and bed sheets that I can use as well. I even got a small stash of fabric from Freecycle.

With all these project ideas, having a sewing machine is essential. I looked into prices and found them a bit too high for my budget. After mentioning the desire to start sewing, a friend was able to pass along a used sewing machine. Score!

Well, I’ve had the sewing machine for a few months, and I’ve only tinkered with it a few times. It took time to just learn now to get the bobbin in the right place and figuring things out. I knew my parents would be visiting soon, so I just decided to wait until my mom could help me with the first project. She showed me the basics and even a few tricks. We made a dress for my daughter with some of fabric I had.

After that experience, I feel ready to take on a project on my own. I’ve wanted to make a grocery tote out of a pillowcase for a long time now. I have everything I need to make it happen. With one project under my belt (which I did just a small part of the work), I feel up to it. I’ll report back to let you know how I did!

Do you have experience sewing?

Are you repurposing anything (sewing or otherwise)?

5 thoughts on “The Quest to Repurpose

  1. oh, these are great ideas! I have a friend who does the cutest things with pillow cases, little dresses and things. I think I might try the pillow case bags, I can sew a straight line. I’ll send you a photo when I’m done. Thanks for such an inspiring post.

  2. Hi Ana,
    I used to sew a very long time ago. For awhile, when we were first married, I made all of my clothes. I really didn’t know what I was doing but it was a necessity. I am sure that I got a few stares at my outfits but I was proud of what I created. I love your idea of a pillowcase tote. I will check back to see how it turns out. Thank you for stopping by my blog. It always means alot to see your comments.

  3. Pingback: A Sewing Update « The Artistry Collective

Leave a Reply

