My Poem for The Poetry Schmoetry Blogfest!

The thought of reading poetry makes me want to curl up on the sofa while I listen to soft classical music and sip some green tea. Writing poetry is not as calming (especially if I know others will read my work), but I am learning to enjoy the process. I heard Susan Wooldridge talk about her book, Poemcrazy, several years ago. I was immediately pulled into this interview. Susan had a casual, relaxed style that made me want to hear more of her stories. She gave a few good exercises to get started writing poetry. I had to get a copy of Poemcrazy. I do refer to it when I get inspired to write poetry, and this blogfest made me go straight to it again. So here goes…

 Image: Evgeni Dinev / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Forward, Go 

Taking that leap

out of comforts

Change is

not difficult,

just different

It takes time to adjust

Doubts feel

Irrational

on the other side

20 thoughts on “My Poem for The Poetry Schmoetry Blogfest!

  1. Such simplicity but such big, moving thoughts behind those simple words. It’s hard to disagree with those loving your final lines, so I won’t. 🙂

  2. “Change is not difficult just different.” Those are words I want to remember. Thank you for sharing your poem. You have inspired me to try to write one as well.

  3. I love this poem! It’s so true, so good, so inspiring! What a great message! So sorry I didn’t make it to your poem during Shelly’s Blog Fest – it was an insane week! So glad I got here now!
    Thank you crazy much for voting for my poem! It made my day!

Leave a Reply

