The Spark Blogfest!

I’m participating in The Spark Blogfest this week! Head on down there and check out some of the cool blogs that are also joining in the fun!

So the prompt I have chosen to write about is:

*What book made you realize you were doomed to be a writer?

I have always enjoyed reading and writing. After graduating college, becoming a writer was more of a big dream that I did not make enough time for, but it was fun to consider. I read for pleasure occasionally, and I was starting to make it a habit. I also started writing stories, but this was sporadic.

After sharing my desire to read more, a friend who was an avid reader let me borrow books she thought I would like. When I became pregnant for the first time, she gave me a copy of Operating Instructions by Anne Lamott. I knew there was no turning back after this. There was something that I had not understood before – voice. Lamott’s voice was so clear and honest. She made it seem easy, but I knew this was a master at work. I got a copy of Bird by Bird and this has become my go-to guide to writing and inspiration when I need it.

Of course after my daughter was born, I had so much to juggle that time to read and write became scarce. With two kids now, I keep making a little time for it all because I know I want to discover my writing voice. Anne Lamott’s work changed my life and I want to keep striving to write honestly in my own way.

Is there a book that sparked your interest to become a writer? 

18 thoughts on “The Spark Blogfest!

  1. The book that set me to writing was “Anastasia Krupnik” by Lois Lowry, I think that was the first time I saw writing as something that I could do on my own for my own purposes. I loved reading about Anastasia’s secret green notebook, and I think I’ve always carried a notebook since.

  2. You know, I remember seeing Lamott’s books at the bookstore and thinking I should get one, then wandering off somewhere. (I tend to do that.) So I’m glad I read this post, I’ve added her to my reading list. Thanks!

  3. I don’t think there was any one book that sparked my interest to be a writer. I just always loved to read and to write. In second grade the teacher sent one of my stories off to be published. It was not accepted but just the fact that she chose my story left such a big impression on me. I have been writing ever since but just recently felt comfortable telling people I am a writer.

    PS I just wanted to let you know that I am starting a free online workshop for women this Sunday. It is the first time I have ever done something like this and I would love to have you join us if you think it is something you would be interested in doing. I still appreciate the Versatile Blogger Award you sent me so much and just wanted to personally let you know about the course.

  4. I wanted to be a writer ever since I could read so I guess it was books in general. But the Anne of Green Gables series by L.M. Montgomery made me want to write unique, dynamic, and memorable characters!

  5. Ana–I love Anne Lamott, too. She is sassy and tough and honest. If you haven’t read it, I’d recommend “Plan B”, too. She’s another great example of a writer who shares wisdom earned the hard way.

    Laura–Anne of Green Gables was also a childhood favorite of mine. I still keep a pack of new toothbrushes on hand just in case a friend should stay overnight unexpectedly. I was so impressed with that when I was a child!

  6. I’ve read Bird by Bird, but never Operating Instructions. Sounds like I definitely should! Anne Lamott is an amazing author. I love her voice as well.

  7. OMG! These are two of my absolute favorite books. Anne is amazing and so very funny. I’m enjoying your posts on writing. Thanks for stopping by to let me discover your wonderful blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

