Nanowrimo Rebels

Participating in Nanowrimo means you definitely want to write, but maybe you don’t necessarily want to write a novel. You might want to practice writing in a form that inspires you. This is where becoming a Nanowrimo Rebel comes in.

Nano Rebels have been known to write short stories, choose non-fiction topics, or even free write. Check out the forum for more ideas. Wanting to write something different should not keep you from signing up.

If you are willing to make this commitment, sign up now and don’t look back. Use this opportunity to stay on-task and meet a deadline. This deadline can give you that needed spark to get started on an amazing writing project!

There is also a blogger who started a Nanowrimo Alternative concept. The difference from being a Rebel is that you choose you own daily word count.

As for me, I want to combine Nanowrimo’s sense of urgency while getting a jump-start on an autobiography. I’ve wanted to write stories for my children about my life before and after they were born. I’m still working out the details, but I’m enjoying the process of finding different ways to approach this project. (Know of any good resources for writing an autobiography?)

If you do sign up, be sure to connect with me as a writing buddy! Let me know so I can add you to my page as well. 🙂

Are you a Nano Rebel? Will you make a commitment to amp up your writing in November? 

7 thoughts on “Nanowrimo Rebels

  1. Interesting concept. NaNoWriMo is horrible intimidating to me. My novel took two years and we are still working out the kinks. Writing an entire MS in a month is insane. I admire those who can handle the stress. If I wasn’t working on job applications and agent query letters I might try a NanoWriMo alternative. Perhaps next year.
    -Elia

    • Sounds like you’ve been working hard, Elia! Nano can be intimidating, but it is fun to experience it. You could even choose a different month and try it when you begin writing your next novel.

    • Thanks for the links, Andrea. I enjoyed those blogs. Definitely different styles. 🙂 I’m hoping to create some personal essays from my Nano writing next month. It is starting to feel daunting, but I will give it a shot.

  2. Pingback: Knowing yourself « Andrea S. Michaels
  3. Pingback: - kimberlycreates

Leave a Reply

