Inspiration From a Tightrope Walker

Tightrope Walker, Palolem, Goa, India

Photo credit: racoles (Creative Commons)

When Leah over at Creative Every Day wrote about her word for the year, I was inspired to choose a word of my own. Mine is balance. And who would know best about balance? Tightrope walkers.

Walking a tightrope is no joke. To get to the other end, you must counter each sway by balancing and maintaining your center. You always have to come back to your center to make it across. Swaying too much to one side may cause you to fall. A little swaying from side to side is normal, but you always need come back to the middle.

As for me, finding balance has been a challenge. I suppose I fall off the tightrope regularly. I want to focus on what is most important to me and find moderation. Creating an efficient schedule will allow time for myself as well as quality time with my family. I also want to emphasis more productivity in my creative areas while maintaining better routines in the home.

Balance to me means taking care of the necessities but also taking care of myself and considering my relationships. I don’t want to let certain roles dominate my time while other areas are neglected. One key to this is getting the least desirable jobs done first so that things don’t get piled up and I don’t feel rushed or frazzled. It will take time to find my center, but I will feel good about the process of moving forward to get there.

Do you have a word for the year? How do you find balance in life? 

16 thoughts on “Inspiration From a Tightrope Walker

  1. I like balance. For me, I’m trying to not set a disciplined scheduled that hasn’t work for me in the past. Instead I try to address a part of me that feels out of wack, and keep working on it until I find another part of my life that is out of wack and then address that. Perfect balance is not the goal for me, but knowing that I always have to work towards perfect balance. If that makes sense. Good luck to you!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Ollin!! Working on one part of life at a time seems to be the best way to approach balance. Sometimes I try to do too much all at once.

  2. Great photo… I’m always in awe of tightrope walkers. I can barely keep my balance on the ground, let alone on a piece of rope. 🙂 I think you chose a great word for the new year. Hoping you find (or maintain) such balance throughout the year. xoxo

  3. I like balance too, and I like your photo but I do not have a word for the year. ok, maybe persevere. It’s a tough word because I have a tough year ahead of me.
    I’m hunting for buddies for the A to Z challenge as well.

    • Thanks for stopping by, Mimi! I’m excited about the challenge and am glad to “meet” you before it all begins. Sending you good wishes for this upcoming year!!!

  4. Hi Ana, I like your word. Balance is really important. I also think it is something we have to be aware of all of the time. Sometimes just because of things that happen in life we do get out of balance and then we have to take the time to shift things back again. I also think as women the easiest thing to forget is taking care of ourselves and then everything can get out of balance. My word for this year is trust. I want to trust that things will work out as they should and not worry so much about things.

    • Thanks for the comment, Ginny!!! Trust is great word. Worrying won’t help a situation, so why not do the best you can and enjoy life. Things do seem to work out somehow in the end. Best wishes to you!

Leave a Reply

