The Four Short Stories Challenge!

 

fountain pen.JPG

I want to write short stories. I really do. But lately I’ve only jotted down story ideas without completing anything. It’s about time I made a commitment to actually writing some of those stories. This is why I’m making a goal of writing four short stories in September.

I’ll begin by choosing four story ideas. I might do some outlining beforehand, but the writing will begin on September 2nd. I’ll take a week to write a story and then move on to the next one. By the end of the month, I’ll have four short story drafts to work with.

Hey, why don’t you join me with this challenge? We can cheer each other on. If not short stories, try some other projects in September. You can also work on four:

-chapters of your novel
-crafts
-paintings
-clay creations
-songs
There are so many possibilities!

Are you in? Any advice for writing short stories? 

Photo courtesy of Bright Meadow

 

14 thoughts on “The Four Short Stories Challenge!

  1. A story a week… sounds like a great goal. You can do it, Ana! I can’t believe September is so close and haven’t decided what I’m going to make my priority yet. I do have an idea for a novel (don’t we all!) but it’s hard to know where to begin with that, and I definitely want to do more art too.

  2. Thanks, Indigo! I know what you mean about deciding what to work on next. Maybe you can make some notes about your novel idea and see where that leads. You might get on a roll!

  3. I’m in! This is just the kind of encouragement I need at the moment. I’m the same as you, loads of ideas but struggling to make anything of them. Here’s to September!

  4. Pingback: So You Want to Write a Short Story (Part 1: Getting Started) « The Artistry Collective
  5. Pingback: A Short Story is Born | Writing Fiction Blog
  6. Pingback: Short Story: The Legend of Birdman by Paul Rogov | Yareah Magazine. Arts and writing
  7. Pingback: An A-Z of Possible Worlds: Review | Write, RPG, Tweet – boreders
  8. Pingback: Amber, Ember, & Umber Drangel | The Write Stuff
  9. Pingback: My B-Day « Anthony Richer
  10. Pingback: Teen Writing Prompt 307 « TeenGirlsthatWrite
  11. Pingback: So You Want to Write a Short Story (Part 2: Taking Action) « The Artistry Collective

Leave a Reply

