Four Short Stories Challenge – Week #2 Check-In

Writing

 

My short story challenge is in full swing. I’m halfway done with meeting my goals, and I’m enjoying the process. The first draft to short story # 2 is complete. Each time I attempt a new short story, I learn something new or remind myself of some good advice I can apply to my writing.

During a jog last week, I had time to really think about my story so far and figure out how to best revise it. The first scene could be cut. Now I have a more exciting place to start. I was getting to know the characters and discovered that one of them could narrate the story well. She’s been keeping a secret from her friends, so it would be interesting to see how she deals with her relationships with that secret. I’ll try this out to see if the story works. If not, I’ll keep experimenting with the point of view.

 

Since I’m focusing on short story writing this month, I want to take apart some stories to explore how they are constructed.  I’ll continue reading The Girl in the Flammable Skirt: Stories by Aimee Bender. Her writing is unique and fascinating to me. I’m excited to read This is How You Lose Her, the latest short story collection by Junot Diaz. I also want to reread some favorite and memorable short stories. There are so many good ones out there.

What are your favorite short stories?

Are you writing a short story? Where are you in the writing process?

Photo courtesy of jjpacres

3 thoughts on “Four Short Stories Challenge – Week #2 Check-In

  1. Pingback: Short Stories Written by Jacquel Collection 2007 | The Write Stuff
  2. Pingback: My B-Day « Anthony Richer
  3. Pingback: “A Few Words About Short Stories,” Augusto Monterroso | lasesana

Leave a Reply

