Four Short Stories Challenge – Week #3 Check-In

Write

I’ve completed three short story drafts this month. This last story was difficult to finish, but I was able to get something down. I’m glad to be 75% done with this challenge so that I can get to some editing soon. My next goal will be getting these stories in good shape to submit them to publications. Do I feel ready to do that? Not really, but I have to start getting used to it.

I don’t have a consistent writing schedule, but I usually write for at least a half hour every day. I would love to bump that up to two hours a day. I’m working on analyzing the way I spend my time so that I can see where I can fit in more writing time.

What do you do to fit in writing every day? What is your strategy?

7 thoughts on “Four Short Stories Challenge – Week #3 Check-In

  1. Try very hard to leave morning time as creative time and certain days to be ‘at home’ ~ doesn’t always work ~ Wow! You have three short stories that is wonderful! ~ (A Creative Harbor) on blogger ^_^

  2. Pingback: “A Few Words About Short Stories,” Augusto Monterroso | lasesana
  3. Ana, you are accomplishing so much. Congratulations. I would love to know more about your short stories.

    I am a morning person so I try to get as many creative things done as possible. That seems to work for me. I also look at how I spend my time on a routine basis. I love TV so it is easy for me to get sidetracked.

    • Thanks, Ginny! Most of my stories deal with love relationships. My characters tend to be under 25 years old or so. I’m still experimenting with these few stories which has been an exciting process.

      Mornings are great for working creatively. I know what you mean about getting sidetracked!

  4. It’s me again Ana. One of the strategies I have just learned (I’m studying to be a creativity coach) is to increase the amount of time you are spending on something you want to do by just a very short amount each day or week (whatever works best for you). It can be 30 seconds, one minute or five minutes but just a small amount. It is amazing how quickly you will be writing more without realizing it or in my case exercising more each day. If you ever want to talk, just email me.

    • Thanks so much for the tips, Ginny! I love the idea of working in spurts. Sometimes I do have a few minutes to work on something, but I’m not prepared with a pen and paper. I’ll work on having the right tools in place so this becomes a habit. I will keep in touch. 🙂

Leave a Reply

