A to Z Challenge – I for Ice Skating

Ice skating, Public Garden

I went ice skating for the first time this winter. I have been on roller skates and roller blades before, but this was different. It was difficult at first, but I got the hang of it after a bit. There is something freeing and exhilarating about trying something new.  It gives you a boost of energy and reminds you that there is so much to learn and experience. You don’t have to be good at everything, but it is worth trying as much as possible.

Have you ever been ice skating? Have you tried something new lately? What was your experience like? 

15 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge – I for Ice Skating

  1. I’ve tried skating on ice and wheels and will never do it again. In both cases I hurt my pride. Now I’d probably get hurt in much more physical ways. Funny, I used to roller skate all the time when I was a kid. Lower center of gravity I guess.

  2. Learning to ice skate is a rite of passage for New England kids. I learned on a frozen pond when I was about 7, then took lessons at the local rink for a couple of years. I haven’t been on skates since the late 1980s and I really can’t afford a broken wrist or knee so I don’t dare get on them again. Never rollerskated or bladed.

    • It seems like a wonderful sport/hobby. I’m always in awe of those ice skaters who can glide so gracefully without a misstep. Thanks for stopping by, JoJo!

Leave a Reply

