A to Z Challenge – O for Orwell

th-2

George Orwell is best known for Animal Farm and Nineteen Eighty-Four. These timeless novels demonstrate his brilliance of weaving social commentary with great fiction. If you like these novels and his writing style, I would recommend Keep the Aspidistra Flying. Set in London, Orwell depicts a man who refuses to be money-obsessed. He quits his advertising job for lower wages at a bookstore while he pursues his poetry. It’s been several years since I read this book, but I remember how much I enjoyed the sense of humor throughout it.

What is your favorite Orwell novel?

Have you read any of books I mentioned?

 

10 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge – O for Orwell

  1. I’ve read all of Orwell–love his work. I like some of his more obscure novels, like A Clergyman’s Daughter and Coming Up for Air. And one of my absolute favorites is Down and Out in Paris and London, based on his experiences working as a dishwasher in Paris and living with tramps (hobos) in London. I haven’t read Keep the Aspidistra Flying for a long, long time; your post makes me want to revisit it. Thank you, and enjoy the rest of the Challenge.

Leave a Reply

