A to Z Challenge – M for Macklemore

I enjoyed hip hop back in the 80s and 90s, but I’m not up on the latest hip hop music these days. Macklemore is an artist I heard about this year, but he’s been making music for over a decade. This guy got my attention when I first heard Thrift Shop. He’s got the right idea about consumerism. Pair that with catchy music and lyrics, and you get a major hit (FYI – explicit lyrics):

I looked up a few more songs by Macklemore to see if I would like any of his other work. Same Love is a song with a deep message. I cried when I first saw the video. You really want to check it out:

Are you familiar with Macklemore’s music? Are you into hip hop or rap? 

3 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge – M for Macklemore

  1. Macklemore is one of my favorites…his message is such a strong example for our young people. Less focus on consumerism, and trying to change other people, is a step in the right direction.

  2. I’ve been hearing that song for awhile but I didn’t connect who it was. Love that song and the message behind it. I think hip hop has evolved into so much more than it was in the early days. NPR just did a cool piece about Korean-American artist dumbfounded: http://www.npr.org/blogs/codeswitch/2013/04/15/176272960/dumbfoundead-a-rising-star-in-a-genre-in-transition
    I love it when hip-hop mixes with indie stuff–just experimental, and FUN. Gangsta rap dominated for awhile, but when it went mainstream, artists were looking for what’s next, how to take the form some place else. I think a lot of people who are turned off by hip hop think only of harder gangsta rap or something, they have no idea what else is out there, and how inventive some of these artists are.

Leave a comment